WTAAA elects new Chair & Executive Committee

Brussels, Belgium, September 26, 2018 – The World Travel Agents Associations Alliance (WTAAA) held its annual General Assembly and bi-annual Board meeting in Abu Dhabi, UAE, September 25-26, 2018 and have elected a new executive committee and board.

Outgoing Chair Otto de Vries has served his two-year term as Chair and the WTAAA board thanked him for his service which has seen the WTAAA expand its membership considerably, negotiate for meaningful change with IATA and continue to represent the voice of the travel agency community on the global stage.

The following newly elected WTAAA Executive Committee include:

  • Chair – Mark Meader – American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA)
  • Vice Chair – Praveen Chugh – Travel Agents Federation of India (TAFI)
  • Vice Chair – Guillermo Correa Sanfuentes – Federation of Latin American Travel Associations (FOLATUR)
  • Secretary – Michel de Blust – European Travel Agents and Tour Operators Associations (ECTAA)
  • Treasurer – Wendy Paradis – Association of Canadian Travel Agencies (ACTA)

The following newly elected WTAAA Board (Directors, Deputy Directors) will hold a two- year-term:

Association Countries/Regions
Deputy Directors
ABAV Brazil
Geraldo Jose Zaidan Rocha
Marcelo Marcos de Oliveira
ACTA Canada 
Wendy Paradis 
Heather CraigPeddie
AFTA Australia 
Jayson Westbury
ASATA South Africa
Otto de Vries
Dinesh Naidoo
Mark Meader  
Eben Peck
CEAV Spain
Rafael Gallego Nadal
Eva Blasco
ECTAA Europe
Michel de Blust
Lars Thykier
Hamzah Rhamat
Pauline Suharn
FOLATUR Latin America
Guillermo Correa Sanfuentes
Paula Cortes Calle
KATA South Korea
Moo-seung Yang  
Sa-woon Hong
SIPA Hong Kong
Larry Lo
Sunil Nanda
TAFI India
Praveen Chugh
Jayesh Tharani
TAANZ New Zealand 
Andrew Bowman
Andrew Olsen

“I am delighted to take on the role of Chair of the WTAAA and look forward to working with my WTAAA colleagues as we address the many opportunities and issues facing the global travel agency community” said Mark Meader, Chair WTAAA.

Pictured above left to right: Michel deBlust, Wendy Paradis, Guillermo Correa Sanfuentes, Mark Meader, Praveen Chugh
Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkedin